Köler Prize 2015. Exhibition of Nominees


Kristiina Hansen, Edith Karlson, Tanel Rander, Anu Vahtra, Ivar Veermäe

Exhibition is open from April 25th to June 14th

The Köler Prize is an art prize that was founded by the Contemporary Art Museum of Estonia (EKKM) in 2011. Every year, five artists or art groups of Estonian descent or permanently residing in Estonia are nominated based on their work during the last three years. The nominees for the 2015 Köler Prize are Kristiina Hansen, Edith Karlson, Tanel rander, Anu Vahtra, Ivar Veermäe.

The artists submit two works of their own choosing to the exhibition. One work that has been exhibited previously, preferably produced during the last three years, which could be considered to be a work that defines the artist’s practice. The other should be a new work that is produced especially for the Köler Prize or one that has not been previously exhibited in Estonia. An international panel of judges will choose the winner of the Köler Prize based on the works in the exhibition and the artist’s portfolio. The public will also have the opportunity to choose its favorite at the exhibition. Thus, the main award and the people’s choice award will be announced at the gala to take place on May 29th. Thereafter, the exhibition will remain open for few more weeks.

The exhibition is accompanied by the catalogue (edited by Anneli Porri and designed by Indrek Sirkel) and documentary about the nominated artists (film is done by Anders Härm, Reimo Võsa Tangsoo, Raul Tõnurist and Jevgeni Berezovski). Film is screened at the exhibition hall and it is also added as a DVD to the catalogue.

In the local context, the Köler Prize is special because the prize is accompanied by a nominees’ exhibition and it is awarded based largely on a successful presentation at this exhibition. Like last two year, the Köler Prize is again sponsored by Smarten Logistics. People’s Choice Award is sponsored by SALTO architects.

This year is the fifth time that the Köler Prize will be awarded. In 2011, the Grand Prix was won by Jevgeni Zolotko and Tõnis Saadoja won the Public’s Choice Award. In 2013 Flo Kasearu won both the Grand Prix and People`s Choice Award. Indeed, Marge Monko`s ouevre was also considered worthy of honorary mentioning by the jury. In 2013  Jaanus Samma won also both the Grand Prix and the People’s Choice Award. Last Year the winner of Grand Prix was Jass Kaselaan, the Peoples Choice Award went to Johannes Säre.

Press release prepared by

Anders Härm,
Member of the Board of EKKM
More information

Tel: +372 50 84 570

e-mail: anders@ekkm.ee


thanks to: Cultural Endowment Foundation of Estonia, Ministry of Culture of Estonia, Smarten Logistics, Salto AB, Lugemik, Valge Kuup, Photograophy Department of Estoniana Academy of Arts, BFM, Penosil, Peri, Caparol, Orbital Vox, Raul Aav and many others