The winner of the Köler Prize 2015 is Anu Vahtra

The winner of the Köler Prize 2015 is Anu Vahtra. The winner was announced yesterday, on May 29 at the gala and the artist received 7000 euros and the prize designed by  Tiina Sarapu from Armin Kõomägi, one of the owners of the main sponsor of the prize Smarten Logistics.

The jury consisted of Annie Fletcher (the head of the Jury), the curator at the Eindhoven Vanabbe Museum; Solvita Krese, director of the Center of Contemporary Arts of Latvia; Kestutis Kuizinas, the director of CAC in Vilnius; Karin Laansoo, the diretor of Contemporary Art development Center of Estonia and of Max Ryynänen, philosopher and the head of VICCA program at the Aalto University. The jury stated that Anu Vahtra wins the Köler Prize:  “Her strong aesthetic language and immaculately executed installations distill a complex set of relations and ideas into strong and simple forms. Her practice is very mature, conceptually robust and intelligent. In her installations she does not just address explicit formal concerns of space and architecture, but implicitly refers to broader concerns revealing historical and institutional connections not discernable at the first glance The jury notes that she is at the breaktrough moment in her own practice and looks forward to her future development.”

The Peoples Choice Award goes to Edith Karlson along with the prize money 1500 euros put out by SALTO AB

press release by

Anders Härm