20 January 2021

EKKM starts the year with a renewed rental agreement and with changes to the team

At the end of 2020 EKKM signed a new lease agreement with the city of Tallinn and FDN Tallinn Creative Hub. Due to administrative developments in North Tallinn and redivision of the neighbourhood surrounding EKKM, our address will soon change from Põhja puiestee 35 to Rumbi 3.

During the new two-year lease EKKM’s team will work on fundraising for the building’s renovation project, in addition to continuously offering an outstanding and internationally acknowledged programme of contemporary art. 


On 18th January Kadi Kesküla joined the team of EKKM as Administrative Manager. Marten Esko’s term as one of the directors of EKKM has come to an end, but he will stay connected to EKKM as a Member of the Board. During his directorship Esko played a crucial role in helping secure EKKM its current position near the sea and next to the former culture and sport venue Tallinna Linnahall. 


Kadi Kesküla – the latest addition to EKKM’s team – has previously worked as Chief Curator at Tallinn Literary Centre and as Coordinator of arts projects at Estonia 100 – a series of events marking the centenary of the Republic of Estonia. Kesküla stated that she will tackle her new position with the motto “Fix it, don’t close it!”


From 2021 onwards EKKM’s collective will be: Administrative Manager Kadi Kesküla, Creative Producer Evelyn Raudsepp, Technical Manager Johannes Säre, and Curator–project manager Laura Toots. Evelyn Raudsepp joined EKKM in the beginning of 2020, Laura Toots in 2017 and Johannes Säre has been working at his current position since 2016. EKKM’s board consists of: Anders Härm (founder), Elin Kard (founder), Marco Laimre (founder), Neeme Külm (founder), Marten Esko (2015–) and Johannes Säre (2015–). 


EKKM’s 2021 exhibition programme starts in mid April with an insight into EKKM’s collection. The exhibition house turns into a repository with tours into the collection guided by the production platform RESKRIPT (Maarin Mürk and Henri Hütt).


Laura Toots, Evelyn Raudsepp, Johannes Säre, Kadi Kesküla in January 2021. Photo Paul Kuimet